Dr. Dominic Owchwangi of DVAP among the Six early career scientists selected to attend the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, dedicated to Physiology & Medicine on 24-29th June at Lake Constance in Germany.
Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Start Date: 
Sun, 2018-06-24 14:36 - Fri, 2018-06-29 14:36

Six early career scientists selected to attend Lindau meetings

Nairobi, Kenya, 17 April 2018

Six early career African scientists nominated by the African Academy of Sciences have been selected to attend the prestigious Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting slated for June this year.

The 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, which is this year dedicated to Physiology and Medicine, will run from 24-29th June at Lake Constance in Germany.

The six will join 600 outstanding undergraduate students, doctoral candidates and postdocs under the age of 35 from across the globe to attend the meeting organised to promote networking between young scientists and Nobel Laureates. This year’s meeting will be attended by 43 Nobel Laureates – more than ever before at a Medicine meeting –and participants from 84 countries.

The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting for Physiology and Medicine is organised annually to provide a platform for early career scientists to interact with and be inspired by the best minds in the world. As an official partner of the Lindau Foundation, the AAS is invited to nominate young scientists every year.

The six are scientists drawn from Burundi, Cameroon, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda who were selected after a rigorous and multi-stage review process. They are:

* Oluwatomide Adeoye, Lecturer at the Department of Pharmaceutics, Faculty of Pharmacy, Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

* Cynthia Kankeu, a Cameroon-born PhD Researcher in cardiovascular sciences at the KU Leuven in Belgium

* Simon Kimuda, PhD Research Fellow at the MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS, Uganda

* David Niyukuri, a Burundi-born PhD student at the Centre for Epidemiological Modelling and Analysis, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

* Dominic Omosa Ochwang’i, Lecturer at the Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology, University of Nairobi

* Balindiwe Sishi, Senior Lecturer at the Department of Physiological Sciences, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

“Our nominations are part of efforts to prepare young African scientists and provide them with the support to develop their careers and enable them to provide answers to challenges facing the continent, said AAS Executive Director Nelson Torto.

About the AAS

The AAS is a Pan-African organisation headquartered in Kenya, which aims to drive sustainable development in Africa through science, technology and innovation. It has a tripartite mandate of pursuing excellence by recognising scholars and achievers; providing advisory and think-tank functions for shaping the continent’s strategies and policies; and implementing key science, technology and innovation programmes that impact on developmental challenges through the agenda setting and funding platform, the Alliance for Accelerating Excellence in Science in Africa (AESA). AESA was created by AAS and the NEPAD Agency.

Once every year, 30 to 40 Nobel Laureates convene at Lindau to meet the next generation of leading scientists: 400–600 undergraduates, PhD students, and post-doc researchers from all over the world. The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings foster the exchange between scientists of different generations, cultures, and disciplines. http://www.lindau-nobel.org/meeting/

The AAS has since 2016 been partnering with the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings and the Foundation Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings to support the participation of early career African scientists at the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.